Lifestyle
Google and the Gates Foundation announce $100 million to bring AI climate and crop tools to 200 million smallholder farmers
On September 22, 2026, Google announced a partnership with the Gates Foundation to direct $100 million to organizations bringing AI-powered climate and crop insights to 200 million smallholder farmers in sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia. The aim is to help them cope with increasingly unpredictable weather. Here is what was announced, how the scale is changing and what is still unknown.
About 4 min read

The announcement: what Google said
Google published an announcement on September 22, 2026 in the Google.org section of its official blog. In it, Google said it has partnered with the Gates Foundation to direct $100 million to organizations that will scale AI-powered climate and crop insights to 200 million smallholder farmers in sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia. Smallholder farmers are people who farm small plots of land. Google said the program's reach is expanding from 50 million farmers.
Google said the combined funding, together with dedicated technical support from Google researchers, will help deploy real-time climate, agriculture and language AI tools.
Read the full description
Sources are collected, independently checked, then reviewed by Jev.
Background: why focus on smallholder farmers
In the announcement, Google noted that smallholder farmers produce nearly 35% of the world's food across more than 500 million farms. Yet they often lack access to satellite data, financial services and public support. These are resources that could help them prepare for and respond to increasingly unpredictable weather. Google framed the partnership as a step toward closing this gap.
| Item | What Google's announcement states |
|---|---|
| Funding | $100 million, directed to organizations scaling the tools |
| Partners | Google and the Gates Foundation |
| Target number of smallholder farmers | 200 million (expanded from 50 million) |
| Regions | Sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia |
| Types of tools | Real-time climate, agriculture and language AI tools |
| Technical support | Dedicated technical support from Google researchers |
| Not disclosed | List of funded organizations, funding split, timeline |
What it means for general readers
For most readers, this news will not directly change the tech products they use every day. It shows that AI is being pushed into public areas such as agriculture and climate adaptation, which means helping people adjust to a changing climate. AI use is not staying confined to consumer products. The language AI tools mentioned in the announcement suggest the program takes into account the needs of speakers of different languages. However, Google's blog post does not say which languages will be supported.
The real test is the actual impact. Google or the Gates Foundation still needs to disclose how the $100 million will be allocated and which organizations will take part. They also need to explain how the 200 million farmer target will be counted and tracked.
Frequently asked questions
Is the $100 million funded by Google alone?
Google's announcement says it is partnering with the Gates Foundation to direct $100 million to relevant organizations and calls it combined funding. However, the blog post does not state how much each party is contributing.
Which regions does the program cover?
According to Google, the program targets smallholder farmers in sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia.
What does "expanded from 50 million to 200 million" mean?
Google said in the announcement that the reach of 200 million smallholder farmers is an expansion from 50 million. The blog post does not explain how the 50 million figure was calculated.
What tools will smallholder farmers get?
Google said the funding and technical support from Google researchers will help deploy real-time climate, agriculture and language AI tools. The blog post does not name any specific products.
Has this news been independently confirmed?
Not yet. For now, the information comes only from Google's official blog and was published by Google alone. It has not been confirmed by independent sources.
Browse the latest news in this topic
Lifestyle
Cloudflare launches Traces in public beta: site operators can follow every step a request takes through the platform on one timeline
On October 2, 2026, Cloudflare announced the public beta of Cloudflare Traces. Website operators and developers using Cloudflare can see a request pass through security rules, caching, routing and the origin server on a single timeline, making it easier to find why a request was blocked or slowed. New pricing takes effect on December 1, 2026. Information comes from the official Cloudflare blog.
Lifestyle
Cloudflare launches Web Search API via AI Gateway, requiring search partners to follow its crawler rules
On October 2, 2026, Cloudflare announced a Web Search API that lets AI agents query live web information through AI Gateway. The first partners are Ceramic.ai, Exa and Linkup. Cloudflare says these partners' crawlers must meet its Verified bots requirements and cite sources. This matters both to developers building AI applications and to website owners whose content may be crawled.
Lifestyle
Cloudflare open-sources Streamline: a demo of using its cloud services to add graphics to live streams and burn subtitles into videos
On October 2, 2026, Cloudflare launched and open-sourced Streamline, a developer playground showing how developers can combine Stream, Workers, Containers and Durable Objects to build their own video processing pipelines, such as adding graphics to live streams in real time or adding subtitles to videos. This article explains what it is, how it works, its limitations, and what it means for viewers and developers.
Lifestyle
Google unveils Gemini 4 Argon: cyber defenders get it first, everyone else still has to wait
On September 30, 2026, Google announced Gemini 4 Argon, which it calls its new frontier (most advanced) AI model. For now it is available only to trusted cyber defenders through the Fairwind Program. Here is what Google says the model can do, what it will cost developers, how Google says it is managing the risks, and what it means for everyday users. All figures come from Google itself.
Latest travel guides

GuideTokyo
Where to Stay in Tokyo: Comparing Shinjuku, Ueno, Tokyo Station, Shibuya, Asakusa, Ikebukuro, and Ginza, Plus Airport Access, Accommodation Tax, and Luggage Delivery
Where should you stay in Tokyo? Compare Shinjuku, Ueno, Tokyo Station, Shibuya, Asakusa, Ikebukuro, and Ginza by the same criteria: access from Narita and Haneda, transit routes, nearby attractions, neighborhood character, and who each area suits. Includes a comparison table, a Yamanote Line diagram, Tokyo’s accommodation tax as verified in 2026/9 (changing to 3% in 2027/4), and Airport TA-Q-BIN luggage shipping rules.
- Budget
- Hotels

GuideTokyo
How to Choose Tokyo Transit Passes: Are Suica, Welcome Suica, the Tokyo Subway Ticket, and the JR Pass Worth It?
On a first Tokyo trip, start with an IC card and pay per ride (Welcome Suica has no deposit and is valid for 28 days). If you take four or more subway rides in a day, add a 72-hour Tokyo Subway Ticket for 2,000 yen; a JR Pass is never worthwhile if you stay in Tokyo and do not go to Kansai. See what TOURIST PASMO, Suica on iPhone, and the Tokyo Metro day pass do and do not cover, with a decision chart. Prices verified in September 2026.
- Transport
- Budget

GuideTokyo
Tokyo Disneyland and DisneySea Guide: Ticket Prices, Fantasy Springs, Disney Premier Access (DPA), Standby Pass, and Which Park to Choose for Your First Visit
Tokyo Disney one-day Passport prices vary: most weekdays in 9/2026 cost ¥9,900 and weekends ¥10,900. At 14:00 daily, tickets go on sale for the same date two months later. Free Priority Pass is no longer on the official service list; only paid Disney Premier Access (¥1,000–3,500 per person per use) shortens waits. Covers hours, the 25th anniversary, Standby Pass, Entry Request, Fantasy Springs access and first-visit park choice; checked on the official site in 9/2026.
- Itineraries
- Family